Installing ImageMagick on Laravel Valet

·

1 min read

Recently, while working on one of my Laravel projects, I encountered a dependency that required ImageMagick. It was at that moment when I realised my Laravel Valet was lacking this library.

Valet relies on Homebrew for PHP, and unfortunately, ImageMagick isn't bundled with this setup by default. For reference, here's the Homebrew PHP repository: homebrew-php/Formula/php@8.2.rb (github.com)

During my search for a solution, I stumbled upon a helpful thread on Laracasts that provided the solution I needed.

Solution

Step 1: Installing ImageMagick via Homebrew

brew install imagemagick

Step 2: Verifying pkg-config Installation

Ensured that pkg-config, essential for compiling and linking libraries, was in place:

brew install pkg-config

Step 3: Imagick PHP Extension Installation

The next command involved installing the Imagick PHP extension via pecl.

pecl install imagick

Imagick is a PHP extension to create and modify images using the ImageMagick library.

Step 4: Restarting Valet

Restart the Valet service to activate the changes.

valet restart

If you encounter any issues or have further questions, feel free to drop a comment below! Thank you for taking the time to read this article!